CIVITA DI BAGNOREGGIO

This town gave me goose bumps, and I see now where fairytales come from. This was a great day, too, the weather was glorious, the history fascinating, and the town so quiet and peaceful. Vasa, Dominic, Tony, JC, and I played soccer with a pine cone. We were covered in dirt afterword. Though we only had a little over 40 minutes in the town itself, this was just enough to explore each of the towns four corners. Civita di Bagnoreggio is a hilltown atop a plateau, surrounded full circle by a sinking valley and other rising hills around the valley. The hill itself is literally crumbling off due to a few heavy blows of earth quakes in the early 2000s, as well as rain and wind that truly have the stones rocking. A bridge connects Civita over the valley to the next town (some students were pretty afraid of this bridge, but there is something magnificent about walking a bridge that may not exist in some next years). Antonio, a fellow my family and I met on a train ride said that the literal translation of Civita di Bagnoregio means “the kings butt”—this being its title because of the geographic layout and another historical fact I can no longer recall. I wish I could have taken my family back there to see it, but we didn’t have enough time.

Leave a Reply

